Who we are

Several resources point out that the practice of football in Bahrain started in 1919 where it is considered as the starting point when it emerged in Bahrain.

It all started in Al Hidaya Al Khalifia School in Muharraq (the second capital); two teams were officially formed in 1928 where they were both seen as the stepping stone for improving the game. Those teams were Al Khalaifi team in Muharraq and The National team in Manama, the country’s capital. Both teams met in several encounters including many matches against foreign teams where most were British teams.

Several local teams appeared since then and Al Ahli was formed. Their first match was against Al Basra team in Iraq in 1931. Over time, a committee was formed in 1945 to supervise progress and order of football competitions in Bahrain. The competitions back then included local and foreign teams that represented companies and foreign establishments in Bahrain. The game’s development and base expansion required finding an association that would sponsor it and organize its internal competitions.

Because of that, the formation of the first sports association was announced in 1957, the Bahrain Sports Association. Membership was restricted to local teams only but it also supervised other games like basketball, handball and volleyball until independent associations were eventually formed for each of these games. As a result, the sports association’s responsibility was limited to football and its name was changed to Bahrain Football Association.

In 1961, the first football stadium was established in Muharraq with an ability to accommodate almost 7,000 onlookers. Yet as expected; it was overcrowded with sports fans and football lovers which resulted in the country building the Isa Town stadium. The country’s prince also had a vital and positive role in encouraging sports.

The stadium can seat up to 14,000 onlookers. It held the first international match in 1968 between Bahrain’s national team and England’s amateurs’ team where it ended in the latter’s favor (4-0). Many matches were held since then and one of the most outstanding ones was the first Gulf Cup of Nations tournament in March 1970, an event that was organized under the Bahrain Football Association’s supervision.

Since 1971, the Bahraini football witnessed remarkable improvements locally, in the Gulf Area, Arab world and internationally. Administrative cadres supported it after gaining the ability in supervising the Bahraini football and since then, it had a major role in improving the game through numerous stages and in confronting many obstacles that were overcome in the association’s successive historical periods.

Going back exactly in 1954, a committee was formed in order to supervise Football in the country by Mr. Abdulhameed Al Khonji, who was its president during that period. Mr. Rajab Zayed was the secretary; he was also one of the well-known players and is originally from Zanzibar. Local teams back then consisted of Al Muharraq, Al Ahli, Al Etihad, Al Fardosi, BAPCO, Royal British Air Force, Radio Air International and others.

In December 1957, a letter was sent to Bahrain’s government’s secretary that included names of the governing body which consisted of Shaikh Hamad Bin Mohammed Al Khalifa, Saif Jabr Almsalim, Hashim Ebrahim Bader, Abdullah Al Shurooqi and Ahmed Ali Al Shomali. After the official approval of the formation, the committee’s work began and its activities were limited to the national team’s participation in the association’s competition only. Most important teams that the association included in its membership at that period were Al Muharraq, Al Ahli, Al Taj, Al Shabab, Al Etihad, Al Asifa, Al Nosoor, Al Nahdha, Jawid, Al Etifaq, Al Hilal, Al Jazeera, Shaheen, Al Watani, Al Wala’a and Al Tarsana. In addition to that, they also supervised the progress of the participating teams in basketball competitions which included Al Muharraq, Al Fardosi, Al Ahli, Al Taj, Shaheen, Al Orooba, Al Hidd, Al Sharq, Al Asifa and others.

The first connection between Bahrain Football Association and FIFA started in 1966 when the Bahraini association was given temporary membership where Bahrain was given the chance to participate in Arab Nations Cup in Baghdad in 1966. Bahrain’s membership was later approved in the meeting that was held in Mexico during the European tournament in 1968 and since then, Bahrain entered the international field of football and started participating in tournaments and national events.

After officially being approved as a FIFA member, Bahrain was later declared an AFC (Asian Football Confederation) member in 1969. As time went by and as the Bahrain Football Association’s activity increased, the association had a bigger role in the continental, Arab and regional levels. In support of its role in the Arabic level, Bahrain Football Association joined the membership of Union of Arab Football Associations in 1966, paving a way to participate in its different activities and competitions.

Featured Videos
Kuwait and Bahrain in friendly today
King's Cup media committee launches support campaign

اتحاد كرة القدم

من نحن

تشير معظم المصادر الرياضية إلى أن مزاولة لعبة كرة القدم في البحرين بدأت منذ عام 1919 حيث يعتبر هذا العام بداية المطاف بالنسبة لنشأتها في البحرين .

وقد تم ذلك في ربوع مدرسة الهداية الخليفية بالمحرق ( العاصمة الثانية ) ثم تكون على النطاق الوطني فريقان في عام 1928 وكانا بالنسبة لكرة القدم النواة الأساسية لتطوير اللعبة . هذان الفريقان هما فريق الخليفي بالمحرق وفريق الوطني بالمنامة عاصمة البلاد … وقد التقى هذان الفريقان في عدة لقاءات كما التقى من جانبهما في عدة مباريات أمام العديد من الفرق الأجنبية كانت معظمها من فرق الجالية البريطانية .

وقد تعددت الفرق المحلية بعد ذلك وتكون منتخب للفرق الأهلية وكانت أول مباراة للفريق الأهلي البحريني أمام منتخب البصرة بالعراق عام 1931 ومع مرور الوقت تكونت لجنة للأشراف على سير ونظام مسابقات كرة القدم في البحرين وكان ذلك في عام 1945 وكانت المسابقات آنذاك تضم فرقاً محليـة وفرقاً أجنبية تمثل بعض الشركات والمؤسسات الأجنبية العاملة في البحرين ألا أن تطـور اللعبة في البلاد واتساع قاعدتها ترتب عليه ضرورة أيجاد اتحاد أهلي يرعى هذه اللعبة وينظم مسابقاتها الداخلية.

 ولهـــذا فقـــد أعلـــن في عـــام 1957 عن إنشـــاء أول اتحـــاد ريـــاضي عـــرف آنــــذاك باسـم (الاتحاد الرياضي البحريني) وقد انضمت إلى عضوية الاتحاد الفرق المحلية فقط وقد امتدت اختصاصات هذا الاتحاد في حينه إلى الأشراف على بعض اللعبات الأخرى ككرة السلة وكرة اليد والكرة الطائرة إلى أن تم إنشاء اتحادات مستقلة فيما بعد لكل لعبة من هذه اللعبات حيث أصبحت مسئولية هذا الاتحاد مقتصرة على كرة القدم وأصبح يعرف باسم ( الاتحاد البحريني لكرة القدم ) .

وفي عام 1961 افتتح أول ستاد رياضي لكرة القدم بمدينة المحرق وكان يتسع لما يقرب من سبعة آلاف متفرج وكان من طبيعة الأمور أن يضيق هذا الإستاد بالجماهير الرياضية وعشاق كرة القدم مما حدا بالدولة إلى إنشاء ستاد مدينة عيسى الكبير وكان لسمو أمير البلاد دور حيوي وإيجابي في تشجيع الرياضة واحتضان الشباب.

ويتسع هذا الملعب لحوالي 14 ألف متفرج وقد أقيمت عليه أول مباراة دولية سنة 1968 بين منتخب البحرين الوطني ومنتخب إنجلترا للهواة وانتهت لصالح الفريق الضيف 4/ صفر ، وتوالت المباريات على هذا الإستاد وكانت أهمها مباريات دورة كأس الخليج العربي الأولى لكرة القدم والتي أقيمت في مارس من عام 1970 والتي نظمتها البحرين بإشراف الاتحاد البحريني لكرة القدم ( والجدير بالذكر أن هذه البطولة سبقتها مباراة كبرى لعبها الفريق البحريني الذي كان يستعد لدورة كأس الخليج الأولى أمام منتخب الكويت.

ومنذ عام 1971 (أي بعد دورة كأس الخليج العربي الأولى) شهدت الكرة البحرينية تطورات هائلة سواءً في المجال المحلي أو الخليجي أو العربي أو الدولي وقد دعم ذلك الكوادر الإدارية التي استلمت زمام الأشراف على الكرة البحرينية ، منذ ذلك الوقت وكان لها دور كبير في التطور الذي شهدته هذه اللعبة عبر العديد من المراحل وفي مواجهة الكثير من العقبات التي تخطاها الاتحاد في مراحلها التاريخية المتعاقبة .

وإذا أعدنا دفة الحديث إلى الوراء وبالتحديد في عام 1954 فأن أول لجنة تكونت للأشراف على لعبة كرة القدم في البلاد كانت من السيد عبدالحميد الخنجي الذي كان رئيساً لها في تلك الفترة حيث ضمنة هذه اللجنة السادة رجب زايد أميناً للسر ، وهو من اللاعبين السابقين المعروفين ومن أصل زنجباري .. ومن ضمن الفرق المحلية في تلك الفترة المحرق والأهلي والاتحاد والفردوسي وبابكو والقوة الجوية الملكية البريطانية والراديو الجوي الدولي وغيرها .

وفي ديسمبر من عام 1957 أرسلت إلى سكرتير حكومة البحرين رسالة تتضمن أسماء الهيئة الإدارية التي تكونت من السادة الشيخ حمد بن محمد آل خليفة والأستاذ سيف جبر المسلم والسيد هاشم إبراهيم بدر وعبدالله الشروقي وأحمد علي الشوملي . وبعد الموافقة الرسمية على ذلك التشكيل بدء عمل اللجنة واقتصر نشاطها على مشاركة الفرق الوطنية فقط في مسابقات هذا الاتحاد ومن أهم الفرق التي ضمها الاتحاد في عضويته في تلك الفترة المحرق والأهلي والتاج والشباب والاتحاد والعاصفة والنسور والنهضة وجاويد والاتفاق والهلال والجزيرة وشاهين والوطني والولعة والترسانة، وذلك بالإضافة إلى ما سبق ذكره من أن هذا الاتحاد كان يشرف على سير مسابقات كرة السلة للفرق المشاركة في هذه اللعبة ومن أهمها المحرق والفردوسي والأهلي والتاج وشاهين والعروبة والحد والشرق والعاصفة وغيرها .

ومنذ أن نشأ هذا الاتحاد بدأت كرة القدم تتلمس طريقها نحو التنظيم الجيد كما أشرنا سابقاً .. علماً بأن كرة القدم في البحرين كانت تزاول منذ العشرينات بفضل التبادل التجاري والاقتصادي بين دول المنطقة ودول آسيا قبل اكتشاف النفط .

وإذا طوينا صفحات الخمسينات .. فإننا لابد وأن نشير إلى أول علاقة للاتحاد البحريني لكرة القدم بالاتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم .. حيث بدأت عام 1966 عندما أعطيت للاتحاد البحريني العضوية المؤقتة في الاتحاد الدولي ( الفيفا ) والتي بناءً عليها أمكن للبحرين المشاركة في دورة كأس العرب في بغداد عام 1966 وقد صادقت الجمعية العمومية للاتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم على عضوية الاتحاد البحريني في الاجتماع الذي عقدته في المكسيك أثناء الدورة الأولمبية في عام 1968 ومنذ ذلك الوقت دخلت البحرين المجال الدولي للعبة كرة القدم وبدأت مساهماتها في الدورات والمناسبات الدولية .

 وفي عام 1969 أيضاً وبعد أن أصبحت البحرين عضواً بالاتحاد الدولي انضمت إلى الاتحاد الآسيوي لكرة القدم وأصبحت عضواً فيه وبمرور الوقت وازدياد نشاط الاتحاد البحريني لكرة القدم أصبح لهذا الاتحاد دوراً كبيراً على المستوى القاري والعربي والإقليمي وتدعيماً لدوره على المستوى العربي التحق الاتحاد البحريني لكرة القدم بعضوية الاتحاد العربي لكرة القدم في عام 1966 وشارك أيضاً في أنشطته ومسابقاته المختلفة .

مقاطع الفيديو المميزة
مواجهة صعبة بين السعودية وإيران.. واليابان مرشح لتخطي عقبة فيتنام
حصة بنت خالد تثمن دعم وزارة شؤون الشباب والرياضة